Kathmandu heritage sites tour by bus service launched in Nepal called “Hop On Hop Off” bus service

Book Himalayas Author Book Himalayas
Update on: May 23, 2023

Today, Nepal launches “hop on hop off” bus services to promote the heritage sites of Kathmandu Valley, inaugurated by Tourism and Civil Aviation Minister Sudan Kirati at Lalitpur Metropolitan City.

The bus service is in operation to make it easy for people to visit important historical places like Swayambhunath, Pashupatinath Temple, Patan Durbar Square, Kathmandu Durbar Square, Boudhanath, and Narayanhiti Durbar Museum, which are recognized as world heritage sites.

Hop On Hop OFF Bus  service in Kathmandu
Hop On Hop OFF Bus

The introduction of the bus service aims to facilitate convenient access to several renowned world heritage sites, including Patan Durbar Square, Kathmandu Durbar Square, Narayanhiti Durbar Museum, Pashupatinath Temple, Boudhanath, and Swayambhu. This initiative is intended to make it easier for visitors to explore and appreciate these culturally significant locations.

Tourism Minister Kirati has asked for the organized operation of buses. He emphasized that despite appearing as a minor task, it has taken considerable time due to legal considerations.

The Minister expressed his belief that this service will contribute to the promotion of our cultural heritage. He kindly urged everyone to maintain cleanliness in the heritage area and ensure uninterrupted service, aiming to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests.

According to Nepal Tourism Board Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Dr. Dhananjay Regmi, ‘Hop On Hop Off Bus’ has been operated as a heritage tour bus service in Kathmandu Valley, listed in the World Heritage List.

In collaboration with the Ministry of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation, two electric buses are introduced as “Hop On Hop Off” bus services. This initiative’s primary objective is to promote the major heritage sites of the Kathmandu Valley.

Hop On Hop OFF Bus Inside
Hop On Hop OFF Bus Inside View

‘Hop On Hop Off’ Buses Routes

There will be two ‘Hop on Hop off’ buses that will run along the following route: from Pulchowk to Tourist Bus Park in Lalitpur, then to Mahankal Temple, Darbar Marg, Narayanhiti Durbar Museum, Kamalpokhri, Pashupatinath Temple, Tara Village Sangrahalaya in Boudha, Narayan Gopal Chowk, and to Swayambhu.

Furthermore, from Swayambhu to Kalimati, then Balkhu Chowk, Ekantakuna, Jawalakhel, and finally to the Pulchok route, has been designated.

Free “Hop On Hop Off” bus service for a week

According to Sushil Payakurel, a Board Member of the service, it has been announced that the service will initially be provided free of charge for a week. Following this initial period, a fare of Rs 500 per person will be charged. This fare will allow individuals to visit all the heritage sites located in the Kathmandu Valley.

At present, it will only run in Kathmandu and Lalitpur

The service, which started today, will only be operated within the Kathmandu and Lalitpur areas for now. There is currently no specified route within the Bhaktapur district.

Chiribabu Maharjan, the head of Lalitpur Metropolitan Corporation, clarified that the current operation of the service is for testing purposes only. However, there are plans to gradually extend the service to include the Bhaktapur district in the future.

He said that the purpose is to gradually extend this service to cover all locations, emphasizing the importance of operating it sustainably rather than temporarily.

Book Himalayas Author Book Himalayas
Update on: May 23, 2023